Skip to content

As

Keynote speaker and sales trainer

I do not only appear I compete.

My story – so far.

How it all began

I compete for excellent and happy sales that amaze customers. Sales, gross profit and market share increase over time as a logical consequence. These lines should help you to get to know me better. “What is Kober’s resume like, what does he stand for, does my project fit with him and vice versa?”

With joy, fire and expertise I make sure that more is sold at higher prices in B2B sales organizations. Born in 1980, grew up in the countryside with animals and tractors, still a member of the volunteer fire department, provincial lover.

I am East Westphalian and still love to laugh!

I have already talked about my strengths on the home page. Let’s move on – in the spirit of “plain speaking in sales” – to my weaknesses. To the point:

You continue reading? Great, I’m glad.

My career

Education: Betriebswirt (VWA), Master of Business Administration (University of Surrey), numerous advanced and continuing education courses as a speaker, sales consultant and sales trainer. I am currently on the long journey of promotion on the topic of digital communication in B2B sales.

I have worked in sales for most of my working life. I have sold computers and construction machinery.

I started my own company because I wanted to get away from the usual sales monotony:

I wanted salespeople to be happier and therefore more efficient. My vision: “How do you transfer the passion of firefighters in the field to sales?”

After all, anyone who knows firefighters or who is one himself knows how much energy and passion is expended there – in the case of the volunteer fire department, even without pay!

Even if you now have a certain stereotype of the fire department in mind: Given. There is a 15-20% “idiot rate” in this organization as well – but it exists in every club, every company – some even claim in every family. Nonetheless, in return, this means that over 80% are doing a good job, and that’s the same in the fire department.

I set out to find experienced mentors, continued my education and developed a completely new concept for sales. As an author, speaker, sales consultant and sales trainer (I proudly mention, of course, that I am the sales expert in the eyes of my clients), I live to make exciting books, rousing presentations and gripping trainings an experience that makes a difference. I want to make sales more efficient and field and office salespeople happier in order to increase profits and secure market leadership. For example, this increased sales by 44 percent in four years at a TecDAX company and won a European training award for demonstrable success in 2016.

During my sales life, I had contact with many exciting target groups – including even farmers. I quickly learned what the saying was all about, “Once you make money with farmers, you’ll never be poor again!”

There, too, I learned the honorable craft of selling, because in addition to computers and construction and agricultural machinery, I also sold myself.

Sold me? Sounds strange?

Storys die Verkaufen

No.

Because selling is something respectable. And I work every day to make it really clear to everyone: Sales is the decisive department in every company. Other areas are certainly important and create the conditions for selling. But with the seller, the customer often makes the final decision in B2B. And at the same time, internally as a “sales person” you often feel like the fool.

Why do I think that?

Back to my story: As an apprentice in a large IT company, I was assigned to pallet wrapping in the warehouse “in order to gain work experience”. After I had made an enormously stupid mistake (only partly on purpose …), I went to the next department. Controlling. My first personal major professional disaster. How can you do that all your life? Presumably, controllers think the same about distribution and sales.

There I was told I was “too communicative.” The head of Controlling probably only wrote the word “sales talent” in my departmental reference in order to get rid of me quickly as a chatterbox. After all, as a number cruncher, he certainly couldn’t judge whether someone was a first-class sales consultant or sales representative. I, on the other hand, rather believed that those working there were already dead – just not fallen over yet.

From then on, I was put into sales. The clear message was: identify the market, develop new locations and sell! There I worked my way up to “Sales Manager Key Accounts” with a sales volume of €800 million per year. I quickly realized that as a salesperson or sales manager, you are often the fool within the company, regardless of whether you are successful or not.

Me, too, Stephan Kober.

If the sales come, market potentials and sales areas are well developed, then it is due to the good market situation. Not because the sales department did a very good job.

When the numbers don’t add up: Then the sales department quickly becomes the scapegoat. Managers then like to lapse into “blind actionism” (yes, at the time I did too).

Nonsensical price campaigns, building up pressure via personnel talks, “putting horsepower on the road”, “controlling sales activities”, nonsensical sales campaigns, platitudinous marketing campaigns, sales meetings with hundreds of PowerPoint slides – these are then usually the effects.

Moreover, I hated it: The theater with other departments or played diplomacy. In meetings, I often said: “I’m basically with you, but that’s not how it works in sales. Inwardly, I thought: “You don’t know the first thing about sales!

As head of sales, I was always allowed to spoon out other people’s soup. Either those of my own employees, some of whom I had simply not managed properly, or the dirty soup from other areas that had pissed off customers who then stopped buying.

But it was always the sales department’s fault.

Sometimes rightly so, but often not.

I played this game for years, and at some point I had a crisis of purpose in my late 20s: “Surely it can’t be true that the decisive department, the supreme discipline in any company, ekes out such an existence?

That those who represent the most important stakeholder of any company – the customer! – should convince every day, internally only “get on the cap “?

But even on our own doorstep – God knows – not everything was always clean.

In the field, we had some lazy dogs and a few who really stepped on the gas. I tried to make up for it with pressure.

But that never did much good.

And if at all, then in the short term only again with blind actionism at various industry customers and with almost “zero result”.

Nevertheless, we also rocked the market there with – from today’s perspective more or less mediocre – methods. God only knows what more would have been in this company if I had applied what I teach and model today.

After ten years in the same company, I was eager to change industries, even though I was a proven (sales) expert there. I then sold construction machinery – a great job, a great company.

But that I then had to bake very small rolls again …

… I had a hard time dealing with that. A lot of things had to be approved first, I had to submit to so many rules – couldn’t “breathe” anymore.

So? Set up my own business. As a sales trainer. But for the first six months I cursed myself: How could I? From a well-paid salaried position with a company car and a big company behind you into the piranha pool of sales training as a “one man show”? In a sector where, unfortunately, anyone can offer services without having to show training?

I had to have gone crazy!

So much for the theory…or rather the dream. The sad reality came by mail.

At the time, the letter from the German pension insurance company got to the heart of the matter: “37 years to go until retirement? Crisis of meaning! That should have been it professionally…37 years on in this theater?

On the other hand: Throw in the towel, leave everything behind and start your own business as a sales trainer? In a market that is flooded with fired sales managers who have no trainer training but are allowed to call themselves trainers?

What the heck: I made up my mind and quit.

I set out to find and found experienced mentors. I drew up a business plan, changed my house bank (because the bank with the big “V” didn’t want to take this “risk” of starting up) and went through a valley of tears in the first twelve months.

I started with full enthusiasm into the acquisition and ended up in bitter disillusionment. Rejections, delays, eternally long decision-making processes. My cash buffer was shrinking visibly. The nights became restless. I felt terrible and was extremely dissatisfied.

Somehow no one had been waiting for sales trainer “Kober” – and with all the mistakes I had made, in retrospect that’s not surprising.

Then FINALLY the first big order worked out. Together with my wife, I looked at my screen in the basement of our house (that was where my “office” was at the time) and saw the first signed training contract with a five-figure sum. This feeling of relief was indescribable. That was almost 10 years ago now.

The greatest praise I can achieve professionally is when viewers of my presentations say something like Arno Kalbus, Sales Manager of the TecDax company Pfeiffer Vacuum: “You have brought about a paradigm shift, a change in awareness, in our sales department and in the entire company. Thank you for that”.

I compete to trigger in people the will to change the world of B2B sales, to amaze customers and to be #1 in the market in terms of sales. Raising the pulse, looking into shining eyes, creating positive excitement, igniting more joy and fire in sales – that makes my heart beat faster and with it the hearts of my listeners.

Thanks for reading this far!

Yours, Stephan Kober

Join several hundred high-profile subscribers to my "Brandbrief for the sales department" to

Fiery ideas for your sales every four weeks

Als

Keynote-Speaker und Vertriebstrainer

trete ich nicht auf.
Ich trete an.

Meine Story – so far.

Ich trete an für einen exzellenten und glücklichen Vertrieb, der Kunden verblüfft. Das Ziel? Umsatz, Rohertrag und Marktanteile steigen mit der Zeit als logische Konsequenz. Diese Zeilen sollen Ihnen helfen, mich besser kennenzulernen. „Wie ist Kobers Vita, wofür steht er, passt mein Projekt zu ihm und umgekehrt?“

Bevor ich mit meiner Vita starte: Über meine Stärken habe ich mich bereits auf der Startseite ausgelassen. Kommen wir – ganz im Sinne von „Klartext im Vertrieb“ – zu meinen Schwächen. Auf den Punkt gebracht:

  • Fallen mir vertriebsseitig Missstände in Unternehmen auf, bin ich nicht gut darin, diese diplomatisch und mit blumigen Worten zu umschreiben. Ich bringe meine Sicht der Dinge auf den Punkt – das kann zu kontroversen Diskussionen führen. Ich gerate mit Besitzstandswahrern das ein oder andere Mal aneinander.
  • Befinden sich in der Trainingsgruppe Vollzeitskeptiker und hauptamtliche Bedenkenträger, gibt es meist zwei Wege, wie sich diese Spezies und ich „arrangieren“:
    • Variante 1: Man gerät anfangs kräftig aneinander, klärt die Fronten und es ergibt sich eine äußerst fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit.
    • Variante 2: Man erkennt gegenseitig, „dass das nichts wird“ – und erträgt die gegenseitige Anwesenheit oder beendet das Training für diese Person. Ich möchte damit sagen: Ich werde es nicht allen recht machen (können und wollen), denn dann verfehlt das Training seinen Sinn und Zweck.

Sie lesen weiter? Klasse, freut mich.

Mein Werdegang:

Geboren 1980, auf dem Land mit Tieren und Treckern aufgewachsen, nach wie vor Mitglied der Freiwilligen Feuerwehr.

Ausbildung: Betriebswirt (VWA), Master of Business Administration (University of Surrey), zahlreiche Fort- und Weiterbildungen als Vortragsredner, Vertriebsberater und Vertriebstrainer.

Ich habe fast mein ganzes Arbeitsleben lang im Vertrieb gearbeitet. Verkauft habe ich Computer und Baumaschinen.

Ich gründete mein eigenes Unternehmen, denn ich wollte weg vom üblichen Vertriebs-Einerlei:

  • Jede Woche eine Vertriebsbesprechung und jeder langweilt sich. Sowohl die Top-Performer, weil sie die Zeit sinnvoller nutzen könnten, als auch die „faulen Hunde“, die durch solche Meetings garantiert nicht auf Temperatur kommen.

  • Ich wollte weg vom internen „Krieg“ zwischen Vertrieb und anderen Abteilungen. Ich dachte seinerzeit: „Wenn nur ein Teil der Energie, die für internes Theater aufgebracht wird, für externe Kundenakquise investiert werden würde….was wäre da noch alles drin?!“

Ich wollte, dass Verkäufer glücklicher und damit leistungsfähiger sind. Meine Vision: „Wie schafft man es, die Leidenschaft von Feuerwehrleuten im Einsatz auf den Vertrieb zu übertragen?“

Denn wer Feuerwehrleute kennt oder wer selbst einer ist, der weiß, wie viel Kraft und Leidenschaft dort aufgebracht wird – bei der Freiwilligen Feuerwehr sogar ohne Bezahlung!

Ich machte mich auf die Suche und fand erfahrene Mentoren, bildete mich ständig weiter und entwickelte ein komplett neues Konzept für den Vertrieb. Als Autor, Vortragsredner, Vertriebsberater und Vertriebstrainer lebe ich dafür, spannende Bücher, mitreißende Vorträge und packende Trainings zum Erlebnis zu machen, die etwas auslösen. Ich möchte den Vertrieb effizienter und die Verkäufer glücklicher machen, um Gewinne zu steigern und Marktführerschaften zu sichern. Damit wurde zum Beispiel bei einem TecDAX-Unternehmen der Umsatz in vier Jahren um 44 Prozent gesteigert und im Jahr 2016 ein europäischer Trainingspreis für nachweisliche Erfolge gewonnen.

Mein Vater war 40 Jahre lang Viehhändler – damit durfte er in einer „sehr spannenden“ Zielgruppe (Landwirte) verkaufen. Auch dort lernte ich das ehrbare Handwerk des Verkaufens, denn neben Computern und Baumaschinen habe ich auch mich selbst verkauft.

Mich verkauft? Hört sich seltsam an?


Nein.

Denn Verkaufen ist etwas Ehrbares. Und ich arbeite jeden Tag daran, dass wirklich allen klar wird: Der Vertrieb ist die entscheidende Abteilung in jedem Unternehmen. Andere Bereiche sind sicherlich wichtig und schaffen die Voraussetzungen zum Verkaufen. Aber beim Verkäufer trifft der Kunde im B2B-Bereich häufig die finale Entscheidung. Und gleichzeitig fühlt man sich intern als „Vertriebler“ häufig als der Dumme.

Warum ich das denke?

Zurück zu meiner Story: Als Azubi wurde ich in einem großen IT-Konzern im Lager zum Paletteneinwickeln verdonnert. Nachdem ich mich da enorm blöd angestellt hatte (nur teils absichtlich …), ging es in die nächste Abteilung. Controlling. Meine erste persönliche große berufliche Katastrophe. Wie kann man das nur sein Leben lang machen? Vermutlich denken die Controller das Gleiche über den Vertrieb.

Dort wurde mir gesagt, ich „sei zu mitteilungsfreudig“. Ich glaubte eher, dass die dort Arbeitenden schon längst tot waren – nur noch nicht umgefallen.

Man steckte mich fortan in den Vertrieb. Dort arbeitete ich mich hoch zum „Vertriebsleiter Großkunden“ mit einem Umsatzvolumen von 800 Mio. € pro Jahr. Ich merkte zügig: Als Verkäufer oder als Vertriebschef bist du innerhalb der Firma oft der Dumme.

Auch ich, Stephan Kober.

Wenn der Umsatz kommt, dann liegt es an der guten Marktlage. Nicht etwa daran, dass der Vertrieb sehr gute Arbeit geleistet hat.

Wenn die Zahlen nicht stimmen: Dann braucht‘s schnell den Vertrieb als Sündenbock. Führungskräfte verfallen dann gerne in „blinden Aktionismus“ (ja, seinerzeit auch ich).

Unsinnige Preisaktionen, über Personalgespräche Druck aufbauen, „PS auf die Straße bringen“, „Kontrolle der Vertriebsaktivitäten“, unsinnige Verkaufsaktionen, Vertriebsmeetings mit hunderten PowerPoint-Folien – das sind dann meist die Auswirkungen.

Zudem habe ich es gehasst: Das Theater mit anderen Abteilungen oder gespielte Diplomatie. In Besprechungen sagte ich häufig: „Ich bin ja grundsätzlich bei Dir, aber so funktioniert das im Vertrieb nicht. Innerlich dachte ich: „Du hast doch von Vertrieb nicht den Hauch einer Ahnung!“

Als Vertriebschef durfte ich immer die Suppe anderer Leute auslöffeln. Entweder die meiner eigenen Mitarbeiter, die ich teils einfach nicht richtig geführt hatte, oder die dreckige Suppe aus anderen Bereichen, die Kunden sauer gefahren hatten, die dann nicht mehr kauften.

Aber schuld war immer der Vertrieb.

Manchmal zu Recht, häufig aber nicht.

Das Spiel habe ich jahrelang mitgemacht und irgendwann hatte ich bereits mit Ende 20 eine Sinnkrise: Es kann doch nicht wahr sein, dass die entscheidende Abteilung, die Königsdisziplin in jedem Unternehmen, so ein Dasein fristet?

Dass diejenigen, die den wichtigsten Stakeholder jeder Firma – den Kunden! – jeden Tag überzeugen sollen, intern nur „auf die Mütze “ bekommen?

Aber auch vor der eigenen Haustür war – weiß Gott – nicht immer alles sauber.

Im Außendienst hatten wir einige faule Hunde und wenige, die richtig Gas gegeben haben. Ich habe versucht, das mit Druck wett zu machen.

Das hat aber nie viel gebracht.

Und wenn überhaupt, dann kurzfristig nur wieder mit blindem Aktionismus und mit nahezu „null Ergebnis“.

Nichtsdestotrotz haben wir auch dort mit – aus heutiger Sicht mehr oder minder mittelmäßigen Methoden – den Markt gerockt. Nur Gott weiß, was in diesem Unternehmen mehr drin gewesen wäre, wenn ich das angewendet hätte, was ich heute lehre und vorlebe.

Nach zehn Jahren im selben Unternehmen wollte ich unbedingt die Branche wechseln. Ich habe dann Baumaschinen verkauft – ein toller Job, eine tolle Firma.

Aber dass ich dann erst wieder ganz kleine Brötchen backen musste …

… damit kam ich nur schwer klar. Vieles musste erst genehmigt werden, ich musste mich so vielen Regeln unterwerfen – konnte nicht mehr „atmen“.

Also? Selbstständig machen. Aber im ersten halben Jahr habe ich mich verflucht: Wie konnte ich nur? Aus einem gutbezahlten Angestelltenverhältnis mit Dienstwagen und großer Firma im Rücken rein in das Piranha-Becken Verkaufstraining als „one man show“?

Ich musste verrückt geworden sein!

Soweit die Theorie…besser gesagt der Traum. Die traurige Realität kam per Post.

Der Brief von der Deutschen Rentenversicherung brachte es seinerzeit auf den Punkt: Noch 37 Jahre bis zur Rente?! Sinnkrise! Das sollte es beruflich gewesen sein…37 Jahre weiter in diesem Theater?

Auf der anderen Seite: Die Brocken hinwerfen, alles hinter sich lassen und als Vertriebstrainer selbstständig machen? In einem Markt, der überschwemmt ist mit geschassten Vertriebsleitern, die keine Trainerausbildung haben, sich aber Trainer nennen dürfen?

Was soll’s: Ich entschied mich und kündigte.

Ich machte mich auf die Suche und fand erfahrende Mentoren. Ich erstellte einen Businessplan, wechselte meine Hausbank (denn die Bank mit dem großem „V“ wollte dieses „Risiko“ der Gründung nicht eingehen) und durchschritt in den ersten zwölf Monaten ein Tal der Tränen.

Ich startete mit vollem Enthusiasmus in die Akquise und landete in bitterer Ernüchterung. Absagen, Vertröstungen, ewig lange Entscheidungswege. Mein Geldpuffer schrumpfte zusehends. Die Nächte wurden unruhig. Ich fühlte mich schrecklich und war äußerst unzufrieden.

Es hatte irgendwie niemand auf „Kober“ gewartet – und mit all den Fehlern, die ich gemacht hatte, ist das in der Rückschau auch nicht verwunderlich.

Dann ENDLICH klappte der erste große Auftrag. Zusammen mit meiner Frau schaute ich im Keller unseres Hauses (dort war seinerzeit mein „Büro“) auf meinen Bildschirm und sah den ersten unterschriebenen Trainingsvertrag mit einer fünfstelligen Summe. Dieses Gefühl der Erleichterung war unbeschreiblich. Das ist nun fast 10 Jahre her.

Das größte Lob, was ich beruflich erreichen kann, ist, wenn Zuschauer meiner Vorträge so etwas sagen wie Arno Kalbus, Vertriebsleiter des TecDax Unternehmens Pfeiffer Vacuum: „Sie haben in unserem Vertrieb und im ganzen Unternehmen einen Paradigmenwechsel, einen Bewusstseinswandel herbeigeführt. Danke dafür“.

Ich trete dafür an, in Menschen den Willen auszulösen, die Welt des B2B-Vertriebs zu verändern, Kunden zu verblüffen und vertriebsseitig die Nr. 1 im Markt zu sein. Den Puls steigern, in leuchtende Augen sehen, positive Spannung erzeugen, mehr Freude und Feuer im Vertrieb entfachen – dafür stehe ich jeden morgen auf.

Danke fürs Lesen bis hier hin!

Ihr Stephan Kober